Author Topic: Spare Tire Fixing Nut  (Read 10387 times)

rr64

• View Profile
Spare Tire Fixing Nut
« on: December 07, 2008, 12:22:24 »
Original cast aluminum Cobra spare tire holding nut wanted. Will buy outright or try to help you find something for your original Cobra in trade. A Cobra owner whose car still has its original wing nut took these images for me.

I have been using a reproduction since 1983 and would dearly love to find a nice original. This part is nearly, excluding exhaust piping, the only original metal part my old car is missing.

Thanks for looking.

Dan Case
   CSX2310
   CSX2551
   rollright64@aol.com
Dan Case
1964 Cobra owner since 1983, Cobra crazy since I saw my first one in the mid 1960s in Huntsville, AL.

Robin A Woolmer

• View Profile
Spare Tire Fixing Nut
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2008, 12:56:29 »
I realise you require an authentic original part but it is relatively easy to reproduce these as a castings from an original pattern, shrinkage allowance is created by coating the original with wax or some other material & may be used in a sand casting process as appears was used originally.
   I am sure you can do this in USA but would suggest owners could all club together & have these made!
   Robin

rr64

• View Profile
Spare Tire Fixing Nut
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2008, 13:07:58 »
Robin,