Author Topic: removing cylinder liners?  (Read 11028 times)

cassiewoofer

• View Profile
removing cylinder liners?
« on: November 01, 2007, 20:13:11 »
Hello, firstly I'm a relative novice to engine mechanics though have just started work stripping a 2 litre saloon engine.
    I have removed pistons 1 through 5 out the bottom of the engine and am now presented with a problem for piston 6. It's route out the bottom is blocked (by the alternator?) so after some research I learned that removal out the top was possible after cylinder liner removal.
    The brief instructions (from the 2 litre engine project website) however suggest that liners can be lifted in pairs using two screwdrivers under the lip.
    Firstly I don't understand why it suggests 'in pairs' are they attached together in some way? and this lip under which to place the screwdrivers doesn't seem to exist!
    It seems the head gasket was glued or sealed with some sort of red resin?[:0] The liners just won't budge. I've tried mallet and piece of wood from underneath. [:I]
    I've tried filling the coolant void of the block with hot water and have been soaking penetrating oil into the top but there doesn't seem to be much of a gap to absorb the lubricant.
    Really I need to understand which part exactly is going to come out the thickness of this liner and the position of this lip where the screwdrivers should be placed.
    I am assuming these are 'dry liners' is this the case?

The other problem I have is the block is about 1/3 full of bluey green crystals mixed with what looks very like scale.
    I've collected some of this stuff and tried dissolving in both water and vinegar to no avail.

There seems also to be some corrosion of the engine block top surface possibly due to leaking coolant? If the head bolts/studs are removed can/should this be skimmed cos' the way i see it the liners will protrude too far unless adapted also?
    Any help much appreciated.
   Keith.

Robin A Woolmer

• View Profile