Author Topic: Exhaust manifold  (Read 14167 times)

cliffordl

• View Profile
Exhaust manifold
« on: June 19, 2013, 17:11:29 »
One of the manifolds has cracked on the Frua and needs cast iron welding. Can anyone recommend someone in the south east who can do it?

The boys at Thunder Road no longer have a contact as their previous welder has now retired. They tell me that the original is an American Ford part but do not know which model it comes from. Attempts to fabricate tubular manifolds have been tricky due to the lack of space available.

Any thoughts on this?

dkp_cobra

• View Profile
Exhaust manifold
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 17:51:23 »
I am not a welding expert but I remember that I heard that cast iron can be welded with laser welder. Not cheap.

Maybe this is a starting point for search: http://www.twi.co.uk/technical-knowledge/faqs/process-faqs/faq-what-other-processes-are-available-for-welding-cast-iron/

david langford

• View Profile
Exhaust manifold
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 18:32:39 »
Hi Clifford
              I met up with the guy who is doing the work on my engine at a place where they fabricate stainless steel manifolds and asked about getting them made up for mine. He seemed confident about doing it but it was going to cost around £1000. With all the expense of the engine that'll have to wait til the winter. Don't know how far south you are but this place is just outside Norwich.
              As a temporary fix on my manifold I used Chemical Metal, made by Plastic Padding. Worked really well and may be worth a try.

J Jones

• View Profile
Exhaust manifold
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2013, 01:49:26 »
Clifford - here's an online tool that might answer your question concerning the origin of your exhaust manifolds.