Author Topic: CRS Cobra engine upgrades  (Read 6010 times)

Superarnie

• View Profile
CRS Cobra engine upgrades
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2006, 21:23:48 »
Hi to everyone, I'm new to using this forum, but from what I have read so far, this is an excellent site with plenty of information and advice- which I desperately need! Just to give you a brief overview of my situation, I have a part built AC Superblower. The car was made by AC in 2001 but was never finished (ACSB 7020). I subsequently bought the part built car and am now in the process of sourcing all the parts to finish it. Most of the parts have come from John Owen at the AC facility in Malta, however the engine parts are coming from different sources. I have a 1994 Ford 5.0 block. I have striped the block. It has been crack tested and pressure tested and has been bored/honed to 30 thou over size due to damage in the bores. I have bought new forged -15cc dished pistons, forged 'I' beam rods, gt-40 intake system (tubular),edelbrock timing gear set and plan to buy either AFR 185 or Ford Z-304 heads. The engine will be completed with a Vortech or Paxton supercharger with low boost pulleys. I know this is not as 'per stock' but what I hope to end up with is an excellent quality engine which will be acceptible as a daily driver but would also be capable of performing if I decide to enter occasional track days. I have read above entries with interest, about emmisions problems with regard to UK emmission regulations and am now a little worried about my car ever passing them! I am aware about making modifications to the 1994 engine (which I have effectively already done) and how the EEC doesn't adjust to these type of modifications- for this reason I have been giving some serious thought to the Ford Extreme Performance Engine Control (EPEC) system. Does anyone have any knowledge or advice relating to this system. I hear it is far superior to the stock EEC and is quite user friendly. I'd appreciate any help or advi