Author Topic: GRAYHOUND XCA919  (Read 3805 times)

REDFROG

• View Profile
GRAYHOUND XCA919
« on: June 02, 2015, 16:55:02 »
John Bowman 5d

I remember this actual car when it was brand new in 1961.
   I was an apprentice Auto Electrician working for Slaters Of Abergele in North Wales. One morning in I am sure 1961 Arrived at work and there was this beautiful AC Greyhound. It looked fantastic and I can remember looking at the Bristol straight six engine with great admiration.The leather interior was superb. It had been purchased frim the Motor Show by a lady who was I think the Owner of Happy Days Holliday Camp in Towyn, near where I lived.
   I was sure it was originally dark blue in colour. I fell in love with the car which I think cost about £3000. I was earning about £3 a week as an apprentice!
   I used to see the car being driven near my home and probably when the car was about four years old I was waiting for a bus to work when I saw the Greyhound driving towards me. It was being driven by a very smart gentleman wearing a tweed cap. To my amazement It stopped and the driver offered me a lift to work in Abergele, I was thrilled but remember we never exceeded 30mph on the 4 mile journey, it was still fitted then with it's original tyres and believe it had completed about 30,000 miles. I thought at the time that it must have been cosseted and I am sure it was.
   I never saw XCA619 again but can never forget that car and was thrilled to see the photographs on Flickr.
   I have been an Austin Healey enthusiast for almost 45 years and when I built my AH 3000 I had it finished in Healey Lobelia blue because of my memories of XCA919.
   I would love to see her again or speak with the present owner. She looks as beautiful as ever but my memory is of a blue car, surely I am not mistaken.?
   The car was purchased new I understood at the time from the Earls Court Motor Show, I wonder if it was the AC motor show car?
   Here is a link to the photograph.