Author Topic: AC Saloon running rough!  (Read 12985 times)

Julian

• View Profile
AC Saloon running rough!
« on: June 23, 2008, 19:48:28 »
1954 four door saloon.  OLW 764
   The old girl's going back on the road after a 9 month lay up.  The engine lacks all power under acceleration, and coughs and splutters and seems to be missing on at least one if not two cylinders.  On tickover and while cruising, she's as sweet as a nut!  The problem gets worse as the engine warms up.  It almost feels like the choke is permanently out!
   I've cleaned and reset the plug gaps, checked the points gap, and cleaned the fuel pump breaker points.  The HT leads seem to be a loose fit on the plugs, but I would have thought that there would either be a spark or not[?].
   Is it likely to be a carb problem, and is this a "user serviceable" issue?
   I'm a semi-competent amateur mechanic (probably the worst kind[:I])  Anyone got any tips on successful tuning of triple SUs, or am I barking up the wrong tree?

cassiewoofer

• View Profile
AC Saloon running rough!
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 19:56:20 »
wish I could help ya mate! but i've not got that far yet! and I can't get a spark at all!!!
   good luck with it anyways. looks like my petrol pump's not pumping, and there's quite a bit of corrosion on the HT socket in the coil. Interesting problem anyway you've got there!
    Keith.

Julian

• View Profile
AC Saloon running rough!
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 20:11:26 »
Thanks for that Keith, my petrol pump sticks when the car has been standing for a while.  I take the cover off, reassemble the electrical connections, and with the ignition on, move the breaker points backwards and forwards a couple of times with an insulated screwdriver or plastic pointy thing (one of Action Man's oars is about perfect).  Hey presto..... click click click.  Probably really needs some proper maintenance though.

cassiewoofer

• View Profile
AC Saloon running rough!
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 17:28:11 »