Author Topic: Buckland LYD 512  (Read 7055 times)

scud

• View Profile
Buckland LYD 512
« on: March 09, 2011, 18:44:33 »
New thread for LYDSI as she is known.

The restoration..."dismantlisation"...is in full flow. I thought it was a useful project for our apprentice to get his teeth into without worrying about customers.

The main point to have struck me so far is the condition of everything. No rot, and purely surface rust. The ply in the floor is questionable, and the carpets ropey, but nothing beyond salvage.

However, with reference to the attached photos, is this evidence of "drophead droop"? The angle doesn't look factory fitted, and although the doors open and shut well, the gaps are closer at the top than the bottoms of the door. Is this a common problem, and if so, is there a cure whilst reconstructing?

Many thanks

James

ACOCArch

• View Profile
Buckland LYD 512
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2011, 16:43:18 »
Dear Scud,  Whilst I am no expert in restoring Two-Litres, it does look from your second photo as if the bottom of the two struts which form the 'A' post on each side are rotten.

I assume all Two-Litre models are similar construction in this area. The struts should key into the cill horizontal frame, and without this the whole scuttle will tend to fall backwards - more so on the Drophead and Buckland which does not have the bracing of the roof structure. This could be a contributory factor in the symptoms you describe.

If you can send me your e-mail address I will forward you a copy of that section from Ian Strange's excellent drawing of the 2-Litre frame.

With best wishes

scud

• View Profile
Buckland LYD 512
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 16:41:25 »
Regular updates on progress are being placed on Martin Port's Buckland pages on facebook. I'm too busy/lazy to set up my own, and I think it might turn into a race which helps spur us both on.

http://www.facebook.com/login/setashome.php?ref=home#!/acrestoration